Microphone
Originally uploaded by hiddedevries

I am a public speaker. I present and facilitate workshops with large and small groups. I enjoy it, and the feedback I receive suggests I’m pretty good at it.

So I was boggled when I began stumbling and bumbling my way through the audio-only dialogue I am experiencing in my new online network. I became aware of how reliant I am on the visual cues of the receivers for pacing, modulation, and flow.

Enter a new topic to learn! I’ve turned to the Internet and found a few sources to assist:

From the Canadian Society for Independent Radio Production:

From Mary McGuire at Carleton University, Ottawa:

From Mindy McAdams (who has other great resources as well):

And finally, also found courtesy of Mary McGuire, a video featuring Ira Glass on story-telling:

Let the learning begin!

