Oklahoma Blogger
Originally uploaded by
Wes Fryer

A key learning this year has been about blogging. I had started a diary when I began my Master’s work, but was initially reluctant to share it with the world. This course – EC&I831 – required that we blog about our journey.

And as we have meandered into the edublogosphere with our writing, there has been cultural, technical, and organizational learning happening.

  • Cultural
    There is an etiquette afoot in this community. It’s not a hidden-rule community, just one of ethics and respect. Part of the respect is to comment on others’ writing with two purposes in mind. First to engage others in conversation. And second to extend your own and others’ thinking and understanding.
  • Technical
    There have been several learnings on this front. Learning some basic html tagging has helped greatly in preparing posts. I turned off the visual editor (which created havoc in my postings if I switched between the two) and often write tags from scratch. My latest learning came via a Google Groups call to our class and Angie responded with a great link describing the difference between a tag and a category. FromThe Edublogger came:

    Categories are like chapters of a book; they provide a general overview of the topics you blog about. Whereas tags are more like the index at the back of the book and explode the topic into a million bits.

    You can choose one or the other or both.

  • Organizational
    Little did we know when we started entering the Edublogosphere that there would be so many great posts to read that would influence our thinking. Alec introduced us to feed readers at the first opportunity, and while I scoffed initially, thinking iGoogle was all the organization I needed, I have come to fully appreciate my feed reader. Whether it’s Google Reader, Bloglines, FeedDemon, or another of your choice, a reader is critical to your ability to manage the flow of great reading.

What a gift to be able to use technology to connect with others that may share the same passion but do not always agree. From dissonance comes understanding and growth. This is the gift of the edublogosphere.

